CAMEROON >

Cameroon.png

As the most diversified economy in Central Africa, Cameroon has experienced steady growth over the past ten years that has not been enough to reduce poverty (39% of the population lives below the poverty line). Poverty is increasingly concentrated among young people in the northern regions of the country, home to 56% of the poor population. 

RESILAC works in the Far North Region, the most populated and poorest region of the country, and more precisely in four communes (Dargala, Koza, Mindif and Mora). While Cameroon has been a stable country for several decades, in recent years the Far North has been confronted with attacks by armed groups that amplify pre-existing problems of chronic malnutrition and food insecurity and lead to increasing population movements. Since September 2017, this situation has resulted in more than 500,000 internally displaced persons (IDPs) and an inflation rate of 30 to 60% on certain foodstuffs.

Data collected by RESILAC indicates that there are a large number of individuals in psychological distress, particularly women, a phenomenon strongly linked to socio-economic conditions. There are no centers dedicated to psychosocial support in the four intervention communes.

Cameroun.png

Sources: World Bank, WFP, AFD, Initial Baseline (Groupe URD-RESILAC)

The implementing partners in the country: ACF, CARE, CDD (via CCFD-TS) as well as 3 CSOs (AJED-MR, ALDEPA and ACADIR) who benefit from the support of the project and implement the activities in the field.

Institutional linkage of the project: The project is governed in Cameroon by operational and national steering committees, the latter of which are co-chaired by the Ministry of Planning and Land Management (MINEPAT) and the Ministry of Decentralization and Local Development (MINEDEVEL).

CAMEROUN >

Cameroon.png

Économie la plus diversifiée d’Afrique centrale, le Cameroun connaît une croissance régulière depuis dix ans qui n’a pas suffi à réduire la pauvreté (39 %* de la population vit sous le seuil de pauvreté).  La pauvreté se concentre de plus en plus chez les jeunes dans les régions septentrionales du pays, qui abritent 56 % de la population pauvre.**

RESILAC intervient dans la Région de l’Extrême Nord, la plus peuplée et la plus pauvre du pays, et plus précisément dans quatre communes (Dargala, Koza, Mindif et Mora). Si le Cameroun est un pays stable depuis plusieurs décennies, l’Extrême Nord est confronté depuis quelques années aux attaques des groupes armés qui amplifient les problèmes préexistants de malnutrition chronique et d’insécurité alimentaire et entraînent des mouvements de populations croissants. Depuis septembre 2017, cette situation a fait plus de 500 000 déplacés internes et engendré une inflation de 30 à 60 % sur certaines denrées***.

Les données recueillies par RESILAC indiquent qu’il y a un grand nombre d'individus en détresse psychologique, en particulier les femmes, phénomène fortement lié aux conditions socio-économiques. Il n’existe, dans les quatre communes d’intervention, aucun centre dédié au soutien psychosocial.

Cameroun.png

*** Sources : Banque Mondiale, PAM, AFD, Baseline initiale (Groupe URD-RESILAC)

Les partenaires de mise en oeuvre dans le pays: ACF, CARE, CDD (via CCFD-TS) ainsi que trois OSC (AJED-MR, ALDEPA et ACADIR) qui bénéficient de l’appui du projet et mettent en œuvre les activités sur le terrain.

Le rattachement institutionnel du projet : Le projet est gouverné au Cameroun par des comités de pilotage opérationnels et nationaux, dont ces derniers sont co-présidés par le Ministère de la Planification et de l'Aménagement du Territoire (MINEPAT) et celui de la Décentralisation et du Développement local (MINEDEVEL).