NIGER >

Niger.png

Niger is a landlocked country facing problems of access to water and drought, which are worsening all the more as the desert is advancing every year. Despite its significant natural resources, it is one of the world's poorest countries facing chronic food insecurity.

RESILAC works in four municipalities in the Diffa Region (Chétimari, Diffa, Mainé Soroa and N'Guigmi) where almost half of the population (49%) is under 15 years old. The population is 85% sedentary and 15% nomadic, and only raises livestock. The regional economy is based essentially on agro-sylvo-pastoral production, which has been greatly weakened by the instability in the security situation, which has also resulted in significant loss of means of production and the physical inaccessibility of production sites. Since the beginning of the crisis, Niger has closed the border with Nigeria, where 80% of the region's agricultural production used to take place, and is applying strong economic sanctions.

In 2016, there were an estimated 127,000 internally displaced persons, 82,000 refugees, and 31,000 Nigerien returnees (95 percent of whom were housed in host households). Finally, the Diffa Region has one of the lowest gross school enrollment rates in the country: 62.3% versus 82.1% for the national average.

Niger.png

Sources: World Bank, AFD, Humanitarian Response, Initial Baseline (Groupe URD-RESILAC)

In-country implementing partners: ACF, Search For Common Ground (SFCG) and Neem Foundation.

Institutional linkage of the project: The project is governed in Nigeria by operational (Borno State) and national (at the federal level, in Abuja) steering committees, the latter of which are chaired by the Ministry of Planning and Budget.

NIGER >

Niger.png

Le Niger est un pays enclavé confronté à des problèmes d’accès à l'eau et de sécheresse qui s’aggravent d’autant plus que le désert y progresse chaque année. Malgré ses importantes ressources naturelles, il s’agit de l’un des pays les plus pauvres de la planète qui fait face à une insécurité alimentaire chronique.

RESILAC intervient dans quatre communes de la Région de Diffa (Chétimari, Diffa, Mainé Soroa et N’Guigmi) ou presque la moitié de la population (49 %)* compte moins de 15 ans. La population compte 85 %* de sédentaires et 15 %* de nomades qui ne pratiquent que l’élevage. L’économie régionale est basée essentiellement sur les productions agro-sylvo-pastorales, fortement fragilisée par l’instabilité sécuritaire qui s’est aussi traduite par d’importantes pertes de moyens de production et l’inaccessibilité physique de sites de production. Le Niger, depuis le début de la crise, a fermé la frontière avec le Nigeria, où s’écoulait 80 % de la production agricole régionale, et applique de fortes sanctions économiques.

En 2016, on estimait à 127 000* le nombre de déplacés internes, 82 000* celui des réfugiés, et 31 000* celui des retournés nigériens (hébergés à 95 % dans des ménages d’accueil). Enfin, la Région de Diffa présente le taux brut de scolarisation parmi les plus faibles du pays : 62,3 % contre 82,1 % pour la moyenne nationale.

Niger.png

Sources : Banque Mondiale, AFD, Humanitarian Response, Baseline initiale (Groupe URD-RESILAC)

Les partenaires de mise en oeuvre dans le pays: : ACF, CARE et l'ONG nationale Karkara.

Le rattachement institutionnel du projet : Le projet est gouverné au Niger par des comités de pilotage opérationnels et nationaux, dont ces derniers sont présidés par la Haute autorité à la Consolidation de la Paix (HACP).