Conference  international
Mental health in the Lake Chad basin: concerns and synergies between local actors, health system and international community

Wednesday, June 29

8h45-12h (UTC+1)

Videoconference

Program

8:00 a.m. - 8:45 a.m.: Arrival of participants

8:45 a.m. - 10:15 a.m.: Presentation of the study

10:15 a.m. - 11:45 a.m.: RESILAC activities and lessons learned

11.45 a.m. - 12 p.m.: Closing

The armed conflicts raging in the Lake Chad basin destroy individual resistance and the well-being of populations, impacting their socio-economic development. Faced with these situations, families are forced to leave their living and production spaces, leaving behind their vital means of economic subsistence, to go to places where security remains relative.

Psychiatry detects signs of mental disorders, psychoses, depression or even traumatic neuroses in these psychologically impacted people. In this context, the social function of therapists (traditional healers, psychologists, etc.) is more than ever valued by the place given to speech and the relief of suffering. However, psychiatric and psychosocial services are still very inaccessible in this region where psychiatry often rhymes with madness.

 

​The conference "Mental Health in the Lake Chad Basin: challenges and synergies between local actors, the health system and the international community", offers a framework for discussion around the mental health response and psychosocial support of the RESILAC project, as well as the findings of the study "psychosocial care in the Lake Chad basin" carried out by Groupe URD, focusing on the availability of care and the endogenous mechanisms of psychosocial care in this region .

Panelists

Florence CHATOT - Study coordinator, public health research officer, research, evaluation and training officer, Groupe URD

Pamela LONDONO - Regional referent Mental Health and psychosocial support, expert in SMPS project management in sub-Saharan Africa, RESILAC

Henri MAHAMAT MBARKOUTOU - Researcher on the Cameroon/Chad aspects of the study, Teacher-researcher, doctor in political and strategic history, expert in conflict analysis in the Lake Chad basin

Ibrahim YAMIEN  - Researcher on the Niger section of the study, expert in community mental health, former research and supervision officer at the National Mental Health Program in Niger.

Conférence  internationale
Santé mentale dans le bassin du Lac Tchad: enjeux et synergies entre acteurs locaux, système sanitaire et communauté internationale

Mercredi 29 juin

8h45-12h (UTC +1)

Visioconférence

Programme

8h00 - 8h45 : Arrivée des participant.e.s

8h45 - 10h15 : Présentation de l'étude

10h15 - 11h45 : Activités et leçons apprises RESILAC

11h45 - 12h : Clôture

Les conflits armés qui sévissent dans le bassin du Lac Tchad anéantissent la résistance individuelle et le bien-être des populations impactant leur développement socio-économique. Face à ces situations, les familles sont obligées de quitter leurs espaces de vie et de production, laissant derrière eux leurs moyens vitaux de subsistance économique, pour se rendre dans des lieux où la sécurité reste relative.

La psychiatrie décèle chez ces personnes psychologiquement impactées des signes de troubles mentaux, de psychoses, de dépression ou encore de névroses traumatiques. Dans ce contexte, la fonction sociale des thérapeutes (tradipraticiens, psychologues, etc.) est plus que jamais valorisée par la place donnée à la parole et au soulagement de la souffrance. Cependant, les services psychiatriques et psychosociaux sont encore très peu accessibles dans cette région où psychiatrie rime souvent avec folie.

 

​La conférence « Santé Mentale dans le bassin du Lac Tchad: enjeux et synergies entre acteurs locaux, système sanitaire et communauté internationale », propose un cadre d’échange autour de la réponse en santé mentale et soutien psychosocial du projet RESILAC, ainsi que des constats de l'étude « prise en charge psychosocial dans le bassin du lac Tchad » réalisée par le Groupe URD, s’intéressant à la disponibilité des soins et aux mécanismes endogènes de prise en charge psychosociales dans cette région.

Panélistes

Florence CHATOT - Coordinatrice de l’étude, chargée d’études en santé publique, chargée de recherche, d’évaluation et de formation, Groupe URD

Pamela LONDONO - Référente régionale Santé Mentale et soutien psychosociale, experte en gestion de projets SMPS en Afrique subsaharienne, RESILAC

Henri MAHAMAT MBARKOUTOU - Chercheur sur les volets Cameroun/Tchad de l’étude, Enseignant-chercheur, docteur en histoire politique et stratégique, expert en analyse des conflits dans le bassin du lac Tchad

Ibrahim YAMIEN - Chercheur sur le volet Niger de l’étude, expert en santé mentale communautaire, ancien chargé de recherche et d’encadrement au Programme national de Santé Mentale, au Niger.