THE PROJECT >

The RESILAC project, "Inclusive Economic and Social Recovery of Lake Chad", aims to contribute to the economic recovery and the strengthening of the resilience and social cohesion of the territories of the Lake Chad region most affected by the Lake Chad crisis and by climate change.

CONTEXT >

Lake Chad is an attractive rural hub in terms of resources and jobs, essential for the lives of the millions of people living in its hinterland. While it is an emblematic area of the threats of climate change and its challenges in poor countries, it is now also at the center of a regional security crisis linked to armed groups. The region's development challenges are therefore multiple: political, socio-economic, ecological, hydrological and governance challenges. For its potential to make a lasting contribution to regional economic development, the emergency measures already deployed will have to be extended by medium-term and more far-reaching actions.

DESCRIPTION

The RESILAC project is an initiative of the European Union and AFD, jointly developed by the NGO Action contre la Faim (lead partner), in consortium with CARE and Groupe URD. The project has benefited from a sustained contribution from CCFD - Terre Solidaire, a privileged partner of the project in Chad and Cameroon, and the participation of several other partners such as Karkara in Niger and Search for Common Ground in Nigeria.

 

The Four Pillars >

 

  • Strengthening human capital and social cohesion, by improving the social cohesion of the population, particularly through support for territorial development and psychosocial support for the victims of armed groups

  • Economic recovery and resilience of populations, creating jobs on community infrastructure rehabilitation sites and supporting agricultural micro-entrepreneurship and apprenticeships

  • Institutional strengthening: improving the governance of municipalities for better management of territories and natural resources

  • Production of knowledge to optimize the quality of project activities in a context of crisis and for decision-making by local actors

Project's structure >

  • The overall management of the project is ensured by the RESILAC regional office, based in N'Djamena, which is in charge of project management. It ensures the proper functioning, coordination and programmatic coherence of the 4 countries. It is composed of a regional coordinator and regional technical referents in charge of methodological and technical support to each component of the project, as well as experience sharing and capitalization.

  • In each country, a national coordinator oversees the team implementing the activities, made up of project component managers and field agents.  

  • In terms of institutional governance: in addition to the operational and national steering committees in each of the 4 countries, the project is governed at the regional level by a global steering committee chaired by the European Union.  

The project's local partnerships >

The RESILAC project is based on an innovative territorial approach, which involves working closely with stakeholders at the level of each country. This includes in particular:

  • Community leaders and traditional chieftaincies: Involved from the outset through participatory self-analysis diagnoses aimed at initiating a multi-stakeholder dialogue on the main issues in a given territory, they make a significant contribution to the community animation of collective debates;

  • CSOs and CBOs: The grassroots community and civil society organizations supported by the project promote citizen engagement in all its forms. They are particularly solicited to support the implementation of activities in the field, so that they can play their role at the heart of territorial development;

  • Local authorities, deconcentrated technical services and local public or para-public institutions: These actors play a central role in the local development of the territories and also facilitate the implementation of the project.

  • Finally, the steering committees, which take place on a regular basis, play a major role in the monitoring of the project and allow all project stakeholders to discuss the progress of the project, the context in the areas of intervention, the points of vigilance and proposed adjustments, and the new activities being developed.

Carte_RESILAC_Finale.png

Launched in 2018 for a period of 4 years, the RESILAC project operates in 4 geographical areas: the Diffa region in Niger, the State of Borno in Nigeria, the Lake Chad region in Chad and the Far North region of Cameroon. The RESILAC project works with 80,000 direct beneficiaries - with a special focus on youth and women.

To learn more discover our brochure - click here

COUNTRIES >

LE PROJET RESILAC >

Le projet RESILAC, « Redressement Economique et Social Inclusif du Lac Tchad »a pour objectif de contribuer au redressement économique et au renforcement de la résilience et de la cohésion sociale des territoires de la région du lac Tchad les plus impactés par la crise sécuritaire et par le changement climatique.

CONTEXTE >

Le lac Tchad est un pôle rural attractif en ressources et en emplois, essentiel pour la vie des millions d’habitants de son arrière-pays. Alors qu’il constitue une zone emblématique des menaces du changement climatique et de ses enjeux dans les pays pauvres, il est désormais aussi au centre d’une crise sécuritaire régionale liée aux groupes armés. Les défis de développement de la région sont donc multiples : politiques, socio-économiques, écologiques, hydrologiques et de gouvernance. Pour que son potentiel puisse contribuer durablement au développement économique régional, les mesures d’urgence déjà déployées devront être prolongées par des actions à moyen terme et de plus grande ampleur.

DESCRIPTIF >

Le projet RESILAC est une initiative de l'Union européenne et de l'AFD, conjointement élaboré par l’ONG Action contre la Faim (chef de file), en consortium avec CARE et le Groupe URD. Ce montage a bénéficié d’une contribution soutenue du CCFD – Terre Solidaire, partenaire privilégié du projet au Tchad et au Cameroun, et des participations de plusieurs autres partenaires tels que Karkara au Niger, et Search for Common Ground au Nigéria.

Les quatre piliers >

  • Renforcement du capital humain et de la cohésion sociale, en améliorant la cohésion sociale de la population, notamment via un appui au développement territorial et un accompagnement psychosocial des victimes des groupes armés

  • Redressement économique et résilience des populations, créant des emplois sur des chantiers de réhabilitation d’infrastructures communautaires et en soutenant le micro-entrepreneuriat agricole et l’apprentissage

  • Renforcement institutionnel  : améliorer la gouvernance des communes pour une meilleure gestion des territoires et des ressources naturelles

  • Production de connaissances pour optimiser la qualité des activités du projet en contexte de crise et pour la prise de décision des acteurs locaux

La structure du projet >

  • Le pilotage global du projet est assuré par le bureau régional RESILAC, basé à N’Djamena, qui est en charge de la maîtrise d'ouvrage du projet. Il assure le bon fonctionnement, la bonne coordination ainsi que la cohérence programmatique des 4 pays. Il est composé d’une coordinatrice régionale et de référent.e.s techniques régionaux en charge de l’appui méthodologique et technique à chaque composante du projet, ainsi que du partage d’expériences et de la capitalisation.

  • Dans chacun des pays, un coordinateur national chapeaute l’équipe de mise en œuvre des activités, composées de responsable des composantes du projet et d’agents de terrain.  

  • En termes de gouvernance institutionnelle : en complément des comités de pilotage opérationnels et nationaux dans chacun des 4 pays, le projet est gouverné au niveau régional par un comité de pilotage global présidé par l'Union Européenne.  

L'ancrage du projet >

Le projet RESILAC se base sur une approche territoriale, qui implique un travail en collaboration étroite avec les parties prenantes au niveau de chaque pays. Ceci inclut notamment:

  • Les leaders communautaires et chefferies traditionnelles : Associés dès le démarrage à travers des diagnostics participatifs d'auto-analyse visant à initier un dialogue multi-acteurs sur les principaux enjeux dans un territoire donné, ils contribuent fortement à l’animation communautaire des débats collectifs ;

  • Les OSC et OCB: Les Organisations Communautaires de Base et de la Société Civile, appuyées par le projet, favorisent l'engagement citoyen sous toutes ses formes. Elles sont notamment sollicitées dans le support à la mise en œuvre des activités sur le terrain, afin qu’elles jouent leur rôle au cœur du développement des territoires ;

  • Les collectivités territoriales, services techniques déconcentrés et institutions publiques ou parapubliques locales : Ces acteurs jouent un rôle central dans le développement local des territoires et facilitent, elles aussi, la mise en œuvre du projet.

  • Enfin, les comités de pilotage, qui ont lieu à échéance régulière, jouent un rôle majeur dans le suivi du projet, et permettent à l’ensemble des acteurs du projet d’échanger autour de l'état d'avancement du projet, du contexte dans les zones d'intervention, des points de vigilance et ajustements proposés, et des nouvelles activités en voie de développement.

Lancé en 2018, pour une durée de 4 ans, le projet RESILAC intervient dans 4 zones géographiques : la région de Diffa au Niger, l'Etat de Borno au Nigéria, la Province du Lac au Tchad et la région de l’Extrême-Nord du Cameroun. Le projet RESILAC intervient auprès de 80000 bénéficiaires directs - avec un accent particulier sur les jeunes et les femmes.

Pour en savoir plus découvrez notre brochure - cliquez ici

PAYS D'INTERVENTION >