Aisha: Reusable sanitary napkins for menstrual hygiene for the women of Jéré

INTERPILLAR: SOCIAL COHESION, NATURAL RESOURCE MANAGEMENT, SOCIO-ECONOMIC INTEGRATION

Aisha lives in Maiduguri, Borno State, in the North-East of Nigeria. This area located on the border with Cameroon, Chad and Niger is subject to recurrent exactions by non-state armed groups (GANEs).

 

RESILAC

Since 2018, the RESILAC project has been working with the populations of the area by providing livelihood and psychosocial support to the populations, institutional support as well as implementing social cohesion activities aimed at easing tensions particularly between host and displaced populations and reweaving community social capital deeply eroded by the impact of the security crisis.


According to Aisha, recurring conflicts in communities are mainly "disunity, discrimination of displaced persons, inter-religious conflicts and marginalization of children and women.

RESILAC's social cohesion activities in Nigeria are aimed at easing tensions between communities and between men and women. In the face of the multidimensional crisis in the Lake Chad Basin, which is eroding social cohesion and increasing women's vulnerability, it is essential to support the socio-economic development of the populations in order to strengthen their financial autonomy. Through joint social cohesion and socio-economic integration activities, the project helps women regain their self-confidence and become actors of their own development. 

I have participated in several activities of the project concerning social cohesion, such as traditional wrestling matches, traditional games, "conflict cafes" where we cook and share a meal together, but also a training on waste recycling and also one on menstrual hygiene.

Menstrual hygiene is a taboo subject in many societies, which penalizes women and makes them even more vulnerable in conflict zones. As a real and opaque issue within societies, menstruation represents an obstacle to the development of girls and women[1]. Within the framework of the project, 140 women from the 7 communities of the local government of Jéré received training on menstrual hygiene.

During this women-only training, participants learned how to make practical, reusable pads using local materials.


"During the training, I learned how to take care of myself during my menstrual period and I also learned how to make sanitary pads with local materials such as fabric scraps. We use these pads for ourselves and also distribute them to women and girls in the community. This is very useful because industrial pads are expensive and we don't have the financial means to buy them, which leads us to have poor menstrual hygiene and prevents us from continuing our activities during this period because we have to stay at home. 
 

                                                                                       

In sub-Saharan Africa, the lack of access to adequate protection and the lack of knowledge about menstruation leads 1 in 10 girls to miss school during their menstrual cycle [2].

«There should be more awareness among women and girls about menstrual hygiene and the use of locally made reusable pads ».

In order to clean up the environment and strengthen the economic independence of the population, especially women, Aisha and other beneficiaries have at the same time participated in training on the transformation of plastic waste.

What does 8 March mean to you?

"It is not just a day to dress up, go out and party. It is a day for women to get involved, to think, to make decisions in the community to make a positive difference."

*The name of the village has been changed

« Menstruation is a barrier to our development. We don't talk about it enough in our communities. Because we don't have access to sanitary protection, almost all our girls miss school during their periods ».

forma hygiène menstruelle Nigeria.jpg

RESILAC

AISHA_edited.jpg

« In parallel, we also did a mixed training this time to learn how to reuse plastic waste. We learned how to make briquettes from charcoal from wood residues, bags from leftover polythene plastic bags, bio gas, bio fertilizer, tiles from plastic waste. It was useful for us because in addition to reducing the amount of plastic waste outside, the sale of the products made allowed us to increase our income.  » 

Menstrual hygiene training participants

Making briquettes from carcoal

« I will apply the techniques I learned during the training to make other products. I would like to make this my main source of income».

*The images have been blurred to guarantee the anonymity of the beneficiaries

[1] https://www.afd.fr/fr/actualites/margaux-chinal-afd-les-regles-ne-devraient-plus-etre-un-tabou

[2] https://www.actioncontrelafaim.org/a-la-une/quand-les-regles-accentuent-les-inegalites/

 

Manufacture of coal briquettes

Aisha : des serviettes hygiéniques réutilisables pour l’hygiène menstruelle des femmes de Jéré

INTERPILIER : COHESION SOCIALE, GESTION DES RESSOURCES NATURELLES, INSERTION SOCIO ECONOMIQUE
 

Aisha vit à Maiduguri, dans l’Etat du Borno, au Nord-Est du Nigeria. Cette zone située à la frontière avec le Cameroun, le Tchad et le Niger est soumise aux exactions récurrentes des groupes armés non étatiques (GANEs).

Depuis 2018, le projet RESILAC intervient auprès des populations de la zone en apportant un soutien aux moyens d’existence et psychosocial des populations, un appui institutionnel ainsi qu’en mettant en œuvre des activités de cohésion sociale visant à apaiser les tensions notamment entre populations hôtes et déplacées et retisser un capital social communautaire profondément érodé par l’impact de la crise sécuritaire.

 

 RESILAC

Selon Aisha, les conflits récurrents dans les communautés sont principalement « la désunion, la discrimination des personnes déplacées, les conflits inter religieux et la marginalisation des enfants et des femmes ».

Les activités de cohésion sociale de RESILAC au Nigeria ont pour objectifs d’apaiser les tensions entre communautés mais aussi entre hommes et femmes. Face à la crise multidimensionnelle qui sévit dans le bassin du lac Tchad, effritant la cohésion sociale et accentuant la vulnérabilité des femmes, il est primordial d’appuyer le développement socio-économique des populations afin de renforcer leur autonomie financière. A travers des activités conjointes de cohésion sociale et d’insertion socio-économique, le projet accompagne ainsi les femmes à reprendre confiance en elles et à être actrices de leur développement. 

« J’ai participé à plusieurs activités du projet concernant la cohésion sociale, ce sont entre autres les matchs de lutte traditionnelle, les jeux traditionnels, les « cafés conflit » où on cuisine et partage un repas ensemble, mais aussi une formation sur le recyclage des déchets et aussi une sur l‘hygiène menstruelle ».

L’hygiène menstruelle, est un sujet tabou dans de nombreuses sociétés qui pénalise les femmes et les rend d'autant plus vulnérables en zones de conflit. Réelle thématique opaque au sein des sociétés, les menstruations représentent un frein au développement des filles et des femmes.[1] Dans le cadre du projet, 140 femmes issues des 7 communautés du gouvernement local de Jéré ont reçu une formation sur l’hygiène menstruelle.

Lors de cette formation exclusivement dédiée aux femmes, les participantes ont notamment appris à fabriquer des protections réutilisables et pratiques à l’aide de matériaux locaux.

« Durant la formation, j’ai appris à prendre soin de moi pendant mes menstrues et j’ai aussi appris à fabriquer des serviettes hygiéniques avec des matériaux locaux comme des chutes de tissus. Nous utilisons ces serviettes pour nous-même et aussi les distribuer aux femmes et aux filles de la communauté. C’est très utile car les protections industrielles coûtent cher et on n’a pas les moyens financiers de les acheter, c’est   ce qui nous amène à avoir une mauvaise hygiène menstruelle et nous empêche de continuer nos activités pendant cette période car nous devons rester à la maison ». 

 

 

 

En Afrique subsaharienne, l’accès à des moyens de protections adaptés et le manque de connaissance autour des menstruations pousse 1 fille sur 10 à manquer l’école pendant son cycle menstruel [2].

 

« Il devrait y avoir plus de sensibilisation envers les femmes et les filles sur l’hygiène menstruelle et l’utilisation de serviettes réutilisables fabriquées localement ».

« Les menstruations sont une barrière à notre développement. On en parle pas assez au sein de nos communautés. Comme nous n’avons pas accès aux protections hygiéniques, presque toutes nos filles ratent les cours pendant leurs règles ».

forma hygiène menstruelle Nigeria.jpg

RESILAC

AISHA_edited.jpg

Afin d’assainir l’environnement et de renforcer l’indépendance économique des populations et notamment des femmes, Aisha et d’autres bénéficiaires ont dans le même temps participé à la formation sur la transformation des déchets plastiques.

« En parallèle, on a aussi fait une formation mixte cette fois-ci pour apprendre à réutiliser les déchets plastiques. On a appris à fabriquer des briquettes à base de charbon issu de résidus de bois, des sacs à partir de restes de sac en plastique polythène, du bio gaz, du bio fertilisant, des tuiles à base de déchets plastiques. Ça nous a été utile car en plus de réduire le nombre de déchets plastiques dehors, la vente des produits fabriqués nous a permis d’accroître nos revenus. » 

Participantes à la formation sur l'hygiène menstruelle

Participantes à la formation sur l'hygiène menstruelle

« Je vais mettre en pratique les techniques apprises pendant la formations pour fabriquer d’autres produits. J’aimerais en faire ma principale source de revenus ».

*Les images ont été floutées afin de garantir l'anonymat des bénéficiaires

[1] https://www.afd.fr/fr/actualites/margaux-chinal-afd-les-regles-ne-devraient-plus-etre-un-tabou

[2] https://www.actioncontrelafaim.org/a-la-une/quand-les-regles-accentuent-les-inegalites/

 

Fabrication de briquettes de charbon