TCHAD >

1200px-Flag_of_Chad.svg.png

As a Sahelian and landlocked country in Central Africa, Chad faces security challenges related to conflicts in neighboring countries and the consequences of climate change. 66.2% of Chad's population lives in extreme poverty and depends on humanitarian assistance for survival. 

RESILAC operates in 4 cantons of the Lake Province (Bol, N'Garangou, N'Guéléa 1 and N'Guéléa 2), one of the least developed in the country. The security crisis has a very negative impact on the cross-border economy and deprives many young people of jobs. The main economic drivers of the region are now at a standstill, threatening the economic and food security of the populations that depend on them, as well as the precarious balance between communities. The Lake Province is predominantly populated by the Boudouma (40%), followed by the Kanembou (20%), Kanouri, Borno and Haoussa, among other ethnic groups. Living together remains very fragile in this area with strong agro-silvio-pastoral potential, and land tenure remains the main cause of conflicts (control of arable land, grazing and fishing areas), even though there are also many struggles over traditional chiefdoms.

Tchad.png

On the security front, although the province has a strong military presence, infiltration, attacks, and kidnappings by armed groups are regularly reported. In addition to the economic and social consequences, a large number of individuals are in a state of psychological distress, particularly women, and show symptoms of psychotrauma.

Living together remains very fragile in this area with strong agro-silvio-pastoral potential, and land tenure remains the main cause of conflicts.

Finally, the low school enrollment rate reflects the striking inequalities in access to education, particularly for rural women (14.3 percent net enrollment rate versus 43.7 percent nationally).

Sources: World Bank, AFD, Community Diagnosis of Lake Chad (CCFD-RESILAC), Initial Baseline (Groupe URD-RESILAC)

Implementing partners in the country: ACF, CARE, national NGOs supported by CCFD-TS: CSAPR (including APAD, GRAVE, KAWTAL) and ACORD.

Institutional linkage of the project: The project is governed in Chad by operational and national steering committees, the latter of which are chaired by the Ministry of Economy and Development Planning (MEPD).

TCHAD >

1200px-Flag_of_Chad.svg.png

Pays sahélien et enclavé d’Afrique centrale, le Tchad fait face à des défis sécuritaires liés aux conflits dans les pays limitrophes et aux conséquences du changement climatique. 66,2 %* de la population du Tchad vit dans une grande pauvreté et dépend de l’assistance humanitaire pour sa survie. 

RESILAC intervient dans 4 cantons de la province du Lac (Bol, N’Garangou, N’Guéléa 1 et N’Guéléa 2), l’une des moins développées du pays. La crise sécuritaire impacte très négativement l’économie transfrontalière et prive d’emplois de nombreux jeunes. Les principaux moteurs économiques de la région sont aujourd’hui à l’arrêt, menaçant la sécurité économique et alimentaire des populations qui en dépendent, ainsi que les équilibres précaires entre communautés. La province du Lac est majoritairement peuplée par les Boudouma (40 %**), suivis par les Kanembou (20 %***), les Kanouri, les Borno et les Haoussa, entre autres ethnies***. Le vivre-ensemble reste très fragile dans cette zone à fortes potentialités agro-silvio-pastorales et le foncier demeure la principale cause des conflits (contrôle des espaces cultivables, des zones de pâturage et de pêche), même si les luttes autour des chefferies traditionnelles sont également nombreuses.

Tchad.png

Sur le plan sécuritaire, bien que la province compte une forte présence militaire, des infiltrations, des attaques et des enlèvements par des groupes armés sont régulièrement recensés. Outre les conséquences économiques et sociales, un grand nombre d’individus se trouvent en état de détresse psychologique, en particulier les femmes, et présentent des symptômes de psychotraumatisme.

Le vivre-ensemble reste très fragile dans cette zone à fortes potentialités agro-silvio-pastorales et le foncier demeure la principale cause des conflits

Enfin, le faible taux de scolarisation témoigne des inégalités frappantes d’accès à l’éducation, en particulier pour les femmes rurales (14,3 %* de taux net de scolarisation contre 43,7 %** au niveau national).

Sources : Banque Mondiale, AFD, Diagnostic communautaire du Lac Tchad (CCFD-RESILAC), Baseline initiale (Groupe URD-RESILAC)

Les partenaires de mise en oeuvre dans le pays: : ACF, CARE, ONG nationales soutenues par CCFD-Terre Solidaire : CSAPR (ceci inclut les organismes suivants: APAD, GRAVE, KAWTAL) et ACORD.

Le rattachement institutionnel du projet : Le projet est gouverné au Tchad par des comités de pilotage opérationnels et nationaux, dont ces derniers sont présidés par le Ministère de l’Economie et de la Planification du Développement (MEPD).